Destroying an Environment

This guide will walk through the steps to destroy an existing environment through the FCP (Facets Control Plane).
The primary use case for destroying an environment is to reduce the cloud costs for redundant, dummy or obsolete environments.

Destroying an environment means deleting all the resources related to the environment physically which could include actions like deleting:

  • The resources created by application like S3, databases etc.
  • All of the node instances in the cluster.
  • Pods that are running on those instances.
  • Any firewalls and routes created at the time of cluster creation etc.

Prerequisites

To destroy an environment, first ensure that it is not being launched or currently in a stopped state.

❗️

An environment cannot be destroyed if it is in LAUNCHING or STOPPED state.

This is because:

  • When a user performs a release on an environment, a deployment is started and the environment is in a LAUNCHING state, so another deployment cannot be launched on top of it.
  • The STOPPED state translates to an environment that has already been physically destroyed and only exists in the blueprint specification.

Destroy an Environment from your Control Plane

  1. Login to Facets Control Plane.
  2. Select the Blueprint which has your Environment.
25602560

Select the Blueprint which has the environment to be destroyed (Click on the image to expand)

  1. Select the Environment you want to destroy.
25602560

Click on the Environment you want to Destroy (Click on the image to expand)

  1. Navigate to Releases page from sidebar.
25452545

Click on the Releases button in the Navigation bar (Click on the image to expand)

  1. Click on Destroy button.
  2. Enter the name of the environment to confirm the environment destroy.
21572157

Enter the name of the Environment for confirmation (Click on the image to expand)

  1. A popup Toaster with success message is displayed on successful destruction of the environment.
  2. A popup Toaster with error message is displayed on failure of environment destruction. See Prerequisites to learn about the scenarios where an environment destroy can fail.

Constraints

When a user destroys an environment, only the physical existence of the environment is removed and not the environment specification i.e., the environment is still listed under its parent Blueprint.

For the environment to be deleted both physically and logically, users need to Delete the Environment after destroying it.