Artifact History and Rollback

Learn how to view previous build images and perform rollback to a previous image.

Artifact History and Rollback feature provides users with the ability to access previous build images for any particular application and make a rollback to the desired version.

📘

A maximum of five previously deployed build images are available for the user to choose for rollback.

The primary use case for this feature is when the user has registered an incorrect build for any application and wants to roll back to the previous stable version, then the user can choose any previously built image from the artifact history list and perform a rollback.

Prerequisites

  • To use this feature, atleast one or more artifact (or image) needs to be registered for a particular application.
  • If there is no image registered, a message will be displayed on live release page with the text No Artifact has been mapped to this application.

📘

If no other build images exist for an application, the rollback button in live releases page will be disabled.

View Artifact History

  1. Login to Facets Control Plane.
  2. Select the Environment in your defined Blueprint.
Select the environment (Click on the image to expand)Select the environment (Click on the image to expand)

Select the environment (Click on the image to expand)

  1. Navigate to the Resources tab from the sidebar and select the application from the list for which you want to view the history.
Select the application (Click on the image to expand)Select the application (Click on the image to expand)

Select the application (Click on the image to expand)

  1. On the Live Release page, the Current Registered Artifact section will display the currently registered image if any.
Current Registered Artifact (Click on the image to expand)Current Registered Artifact (Click on the image to expand)

Current Registered Artifact (Click on the image to expand)

  1. Click on the Rollback button to view a list of previously registered artifacts.
Rollback button (Click on the image to expand)Rollback button (Click on the image to expand)

Rollback button (Click on the image to expand)

Perform Rollback

The rollback functionality is embedded with the artifact history screen. You can follow the same steps listed above to reach this screen.

  1. The artifact history page will show a list of upto five previously registered artifacts.
  2. To perform rollback, select the rollback icon on a previously registered image.
Rollback image (Click on the image to expand)Rollback image (Click on the image to expand)

Rollback image (Click on the image to expand)

  1. A confirmation dialog box will popup to verify the rollback. Click on Confirm to proceed.
Confirm Rollback (Click on the image to expand)Confirm Rollback (Click on the image to expand)

Confirm Rollback (Click on the image to expand)

  1. If the rollback is successful, the dialog window closes, a success toaster is displayed and both the current image and history list are refreshed.
Rollback Successful (Click on the image to expand)Rollback Successful (Click on the image to expand)

Rollback Successful (Click on the image to expand)

  1. If the rollback is unsuccessful, the dialog window closes and a failure toaster is displayed.

Constraints

The change of registered image as selected by a user will only be enforced on the next release of the environment.


Did this page help you?