Creating a Project

How to create a Project?

  1. To create a new Project, navigate to the Projects tab and click Create Project.
  2. In the modal that appears, mention
    1. Enter the Project Name (mandatory) and Description.
    2. Select the Primary Cloud provider (mandatory). This determines the default configurations, or 'flavors' while adding resources to the Blueprint.
    3. Select the type of Environment(s) you would like to create in your project.
  3. Click Create.

You have successfully created a new Project. This will be accessible from the Projects tab.

What are the settings specific to a Project?

  1. To access these settings, open the Projects tab and choose the relevant project.
  2. From here, select the Project Settings tab. This tab contains three tabs: General, GitOps, and Danger Zone.
  3. In the General section, you will find:
    1. Project Name (uneditable)
    2. Description: You can alter the project's summary here.
    3. Primary Cloud: Shows the selected cloud service provider.
    4. After making any changes, click Save Changes to implement them.
  4. The GitOps, when configured, allows modifications in the Blueprint via your GitHub repository. Here, you will find the following options:
    1. Choose Account: Select the GitOps account you prefer.
    2. Repository URL: Specify the location of your repository.
    3. Branch: Identify the branch that carries the desired Blueprint.
    4. Relative Path: Denotes the directory containing the Blueprint definition in relation to the repository URL.
    5. After making any changes, click Save Changes.
  5. The CI/CD tab allows you to automate your deployment by creating tailored rules and workflows for your development process. Choose between Branch Per Environment, Single Branch Promotion or Advanced.
  6. The Danger Zone section provides the option to delete the project. To do so:
    1. Click Delete.
    2. A pop-up will appear asking you to confirm the project name.
    3. Enter the name and click Delete.

By understanding and effectively utilizing these settings, you can successfully manage and control your projects Facets.

FAQ

1. Can I edit the name of my project?

No, the Project Name field is not editable once the project has been created.

2. What is the "Enable GitOps" feature in my project settings?

The "Enable GitOps" feature lets you adjust your project's Blueprint directly from your GitHub repository. When you turn this feature on, you can choose your GitOps account, specify your repository, and select the branch for your Blueprint.

3. How do I delete a project?

i. To delete a project, go to the Settings tab of your project and navigate to the Danger Zone section.

ii. Click Delete.

iii. A pop-up will appear asking you to confirm the project name. After entering the name, click Delete to remove the project.